
SECTION .0300 - PUBLIC KEY TECHNOLOGY 

 

18 NCAC 10 .0301 PUBLIC KEY TECHNOLOGY LICENSING, FEES, RENEWAL 

(a)  To be considered for licensure under this subsection, a Certification Authority shall utilize certificate-based 

public key cryptography. 

(b)  Any applicant seeking licensure must demonstrate compliance with the North Carolina Electronic Commerce 

Act, G.S. 66, Article 11A, and the rules in this Chapter. 

(c)  To request licensure, a Certification Authority shall provide the Electronic Commerce Section with a copy of its 

current Certification Practice Statement and most recent reports of compliance audit(s) as required by 18 NCAC 10 

.0303 (k).  

(d)  A Certification Authority shall adhere to its Certification Practice Statement.  If a Certification Authority 

modifies its Certification Practice Statement, it shall provide an updated copy of the Certification Practice Statement 

to the Electronic Commerce Section as soon as is practicable, and no later than the date the updated Certification 

Practice Statement is put into operation.  As a condition of continued licensure, the Electronic Commerce Section 

may require the Certification Authority to undergo an audit to document compliance with its updated Certification 

Practice Statement and the rules in this Chapter. 

(e)  An initial licensing fee of two thousand dollars ($2,000 US) shall accompany an initial application.   

(f)  A renewal fee of two thousand dollars ($2,000 US) shall accompany an application for renewal by a licensed 

Certification Authority. 

(g)  A license issued by the Electronic Commerce Section pursuant to this Section shall expire one year after its 

effective date, unless timely renewed. 

(h)  Financial Responsibility. 

(1) As precondition of licensure a Certification Authority shall obtain a bond issued by a surety 

company authorized to do business in North Carolina.  A copy of the bond shall be filed with the 

Electronic Commerce Section prior to licensure.  The amount of the bond shall not be less than 

twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000 US).  The bond shall be in favor of the State of North 

Carolina.  The bond shall be payable for any penalties assessed by the Electronic Commerce 

Section pursuant to the Rules in this Chapter and for any losses the State encounters resulting from 

a Certification Authority's conduct of activities subject to the Electronic Commerce Act or arising 

out of a violation of the Electronic Commerce Act or any Rule promulgated thereunder; 

(2) As precondition of licensure a Certification Authority shall obtain indemnity insurance coverage 

(e.g. "errors and omissions" or "cyber coverage" or similar coverage) to protect subscribers, 

relying parties and the State for any losses resulting from the Certification Authority's conduct of 

activities subject to the Electronic Commerce Act or arising out of a violation of the Electronic 

Commerce Act or any Rule promulgated thereunder.  Indemnity coverage shall be obtained and 

maintained in the amount of not less than one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000 US) per 

occurrence and not less than one million dollars ($1,000,000 US) for all occurrences; 

(3) The failure of a Certification Authority to continuously maintain this surety bond and indemnity 

insurance coverage may be the basis for revocation or suspension of its license.  

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 66-58.3; 66-58.10(a)(2); 

Temporary Adoption Eff. February 23, 1999; 

Codifier determined on November 23, 1999, agency findings did not meet criteria for temporary 

rule; 

Temporary Adoption Eff. December 3, 1999; 

Eff. March 26, 2001; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. December 

6, 2016. 

 


